Skip to main content
Skip table of contents

How to translate content in Translations Cloud using language macros

(info) The app “Translations for Confluence Cloud” is not an automatic translation or a translation memory tool. Instead, you use this app to manage different language versions of your content on a single Confluence page. You do this by inserting the language versions into language macros (see below ⤵️).

Depending on your company policy, insert translations by

  • working with (external) translators

  • using tools like Google Translate, DeepL, ChatGPT or one of its apps

 We also recommend setting up a concept for the translation workflow.

Using language macros to translate content

  1. Navigate to a page that needs to be translated. Alternatively, create a new empty page to start from scratch.

  2. Open the macro browser by typing "/" and the beginning of the first language. Choose the desired language.

  3. Type your respective content into the language box. If you are working with existing text, simply drag your content into the language box. You may use any other macro within the language macro.

  4. Open the macro browser again ("/) and start typing another language. Choose the desired language.

  5. Type the translation of your content into the new language box.

  6. Repeat until all languages are covered.

  7. Save the page.

  • The content will now be displayed only in your selected language (see here for details).
    Use the language drop-down if you want to see the other languages to check if everything looks correct.

  • The language drop-down might not appear right after you publish the page. Please reload the page to make the drop-down appear.

  • It is not possible to translate the page titles on Confluence Cloud.

List of language macros

There are around 40 languages that the app Translations for Confluence currently supports:

  • English (US)

  • English (GB)

  • English (Canadian)

  • Belarusian

  • Bulgarian

  • Catalan

  • Chinese

  • Croatian

  • Czech

  • Danish

  • Dutch

  • Estonian

  • Finnish

  • French (France)

  • French (Canadian)

  • German

  • Greek

  • Hindi

  • Hungarian

  • Icelandic

  • Indonesian

  • Irish

  • Italian

  • Japanese

  • Korean

  • Latvian

  • Lithuanian

  • Maltese

  • Norwegian (Bokmål)

  • Norwegian (Nynorsk)

  • Polish

  • Portuguese

  • Portuguese (Brasil)

  • Romanian

  • Russian

  • Serbian

  • Slovak

  • Slovenian

  • Spanish

  • Swedish

  • Thai

  • Turkish

  • Ukrainian

  • Vietnamese

Related content

JavaScript errors detected

Please note, these errors can depend on your browser setup.

If this problem persists, please contact our support.